Who We Are

Our Organisation

Illustrative Banner Image

The Commissioners

The current members of the Commission are:

Jon Stanhope

Jon Stanhope was appointed as President of the Commission on 14 December 2014. Mr Stanhope was appointed as Deputy Administrator of Norfolk Island, Secretary of a major Parliamentary Committee and as President of a number of community organisations prior to his political career. Mr Stanhope is the former Chief Minister of the ACT. He was elected as an Australian Labour Party candidate to the ACT Legislative Assembly in 1998 and was appointed Leader of the Opposition after the election. He remained as leader for over 13 years. Mr Stanhope was elected Chief Minister in 2001, a position he held for nearly a decade. While he was Chief Minister, and concurrent Minister for various portfolios, he sought to change and reform in the finances and administration of the Australian Capital Territory. He introduced a number important reforms, including the introduction of a Human Rights Act, reducing budget expenditure and streamlining the bureaucracy. Mr Stanhope has been Professorial Fellow in Public Sector Engagement in the Australian and New Zealand School of Government at the University of Canberra.

John Boersig

John Boersig was appointed a Chief Executive Officer of the Commission on 1 December 2013, and holds a position on the Board in that capacity. Dr Boersig commenced as CEO at that time. He brings to the Commission extensive experience in legal aid, legal education and public administration. He was engaged in legal aid practice from 1983, initially with the Aboriginal Legal Service and later as a senior lecturer and director of the Newcastle Legal Centre where he ran the clinical and professional program at the University of Newcastle's Faculty of Law. He was a presiding member of the Guardianship Tribunal for many years. In 2004 Dr Boersig joined the Commonwealth Attorney-General's Department as Assistant Secretary of the Indigenous Law & Justice Branch and later as Assistance Secretary of the Human Rights Branch. He moved to the Ministerial & Cabinet Unit and then the Security Coordination Branch immediately prior to joining the Commission. He has a PhD from the University of Sydney.

Gail Kinsella

Gail Kinsella was originally appointed to the Commission on 10 May 2010. She is a Chartered Accountant and a director of Kinsella Partners - Chartered Accountants. She is a member of a number of professional advisory boards and committees at the local and national level. Her community activities include holding the position as a board member of Communities@Work.

Walter Hawkins

Walter Hawkins was appointed to the Commission on 10 August 2012. He is the Principal and the Practice Leader of the Canberra office of Maurice Blackburn Lawyers (previously Pamela Coward Higgins Lawyers) specialising in personal injury litigation with over 25 years' experience. Walter is a member of the ACT Law Society Civil Litigation Committee, Chairs the ACT Law Society Access to Justice Committee and is a member of the Law Council of Australia Access to Justice Committee and a member of the Australian Lawyers Alliance. Walter originally worked with the Public Interest Advocacy Centre (PIAC) in Sydney conducting large scale product liability litigation, and then spent six years with a national personal injury firm. For many years Walter was a contributing author to the Lawyers Practice Manual of New South Wales. Walter's previous appointments include President of ACT Labor Lawyers. Walter graduated from Macquarie University in 1985 with a Bachelor of Arts and Bachelor of Laws. In 2007 Walter obtained a Master of Business Administration from the University of Canberra.

Alison Playford

Alison Playford was appointed to the Commission on 30 June 2014. Ms Playford is currently Acting Director-General in the ACT Justice and Community Safety Directorate. She has previously held the roles of both Deputy Director-General, Justice and Deputy Director-General, Community Safety in that Directorate. Before joining the ACT Government in November 2010 she had over 20 years' experience in the Commonwealth public sector in a range of positions in the Department of Finance, the Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet and the Attorney-General's Department including in the areas of native title, indigenous litigation, family law, administrative law, federal courts and tribunals. Ms Playford was the First Assistant Secretary of the Commonwealth Attorney-General's Department from August 2009 until November 2010. She was also an alternate member of the Council of the National Judicial College of Australia in 2010 (nominated by the Commonwealth Attorney-General).

Genevieve Bolton

Genevieve Bolton was appointed to the Commission on 24 July 2015.

Kym Duggan

Kym Duggan was appointed to the Commission on 20 May 2016.